For the sake of it

Know what?! The lighting in my apartment is so poor (aka generally referred to as “cozy”) that I simply can’t take new, suitable garment pictures during the week (still dark in the morning, already dark when I’m home). So shooting will have to wait till the weekend. Just two words: Wiggle Dress! WHoooOOP!

In the meantime (in a dimly lit corner of my home) I browsed the internet and I found some piece of wisdom that hit right home.

Author Elizabeth Gilbert on how soul cleaning and grounding a personal passion can be:

“Your home (or passion) is that thing towards you can dedicate your energy with such singular devotion that the ultimate results become inconsequential.”

And I like to think that’s sewing for me. In the sense of #ForMyOwnSake and #EffPerfection , really. Knowing what you love, being able to do stuff that you love – just for the sake of it. If that isn’t pure luxury, I don’t know what is!

If you fancy some more thoughts on how passion and knowing what you love can help you balancing out the ups and downs in life, here’s her full speech. I thought it was epic (even if it might be a little … uhm… over the top at sometimes).

And in that notion: #EffPerfection or:  #ProgressBeforePerfection. I’ll go and lit some more candles and might sew a little something just for the sake of it.

Leave a Reply

