XMas Jumper Round Up

Plug in the fairy lights, heat up a mug of mulled wine and for the very last time this year, let’s put some post-Christmas music on:

Isn’t less patronizing when song by a woman….

Well, right, anyways… turn it UUUUP.

’cause we’ve got some Festive Jumpers to catch up on.

Remember, I asked to get some help in my quest for “becoming a less selfish sewer” and offered to sew up some Xmas sweaters for those with the most inspiring design themes.

What a silly mechanism, I should have known that each and every one of your ideas would be marvellous.

Heimo’s “The big bad cookie disaster

Lukas’ “Scary Jumper

Renee’s “Snow flakes

Julia’s “Xmas Craziness

Martina’s “Bridget Jones

Simone’s “There used to be more glitter

Natalie’s “Xmas cats

– and –

Jörg’s “Action under the Christmas Tree

I see a slight tendency towards emotional stress here – with all the crazy/scary/disaster/action. Must be the time of year.

So – how was I ever able to choose from all those great ideas? How to decide what sweater to make? Make a draw of course. Plain, simple, still a bit unfair due to my changes in the decision making mechanism. But even Christmas isn’t always fair! There you go!

And here are our lucky jumper lovers.

IMG_5436
Natalie’s „Xmas cats”

 

IMG_5464
Lukas’ „Scary Jumper”

 

Natalie’s “Xmas cats” – I felt – needed to be both cosy AND glamorous. So sequins were a logical ingredients.

IMG_5409

IMG_5412

If Natalie is anything like me (and I know she’s quite a bit like me) she’d appreciate a sweater that goes well with both track suit bottoms for Boxing Day and a skirt for dinner (if you’re interested; I was in my track suit bottoms all day long. It was great! Not saying Natalie was but I love to think she could use it for a cuddle up on the sofa AND a walk on the piers of Brighton / Hove). Hence – a little glamour would be in order, I figured, and I shamelessly nicked the idea from some ASOS sweaters. There, I said it. But the cats’ sound is in my own writing, if I may add.

“Meow” you all!!!

IMG_5435

IMG_5437

Natalie was amazing as ever and made a donation straight away to Cancer Research UK. No wonder, I mean that woman does charity runs. She’s amazing!! Thank you so much!

For Lukas’ “Scary Jumper” I decided to turn the theme into a “scared jumper” and add the German exclamation of astonishment or fright (“HUCH”) on the front – something you would hear Lukas say in casual conversations. Believe me, I’ve seen it!

IMG_5465

Hence, a very personalized sweater with – admittedly – boyish letters in tartan fabric; tartan to mirror the “Christmas” theme – boyish because I felt it was Christmassy appropriate to add some more fun.

IMG_5466

IMG_5468

And he modelled his jumper for the world to see, too, and took it out onto the streets of Hamburg. Best picture ever! Thank you for sharing!!!

#Huch, ein Seepferdchen?!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/lukasch/

Both versions are based on the Grainline Studio “Linden Sweater” which I love to bits! I’ve made five jumpers with this pattern already – including the two above. They make the best gifts (except when you forget to scale the neck properly for men size; if you forget that, it turns out wild… not the pattern’s fault of course; just a little note to self).

I decided to make the two jumpers a little less Christmassy than I originally intended (as you can see). The only exception would have been for Simon’s theme. If Simone’s “there used to be more glitter” had made the run it would have been all shine and sparkle. Was thinking about adding a fringe of glitter strings at the under arms – in Cowboy style. This would have been highly impractical but SO MUCH FUN! I’m sure Simone would have appreciated that design!

And to Heimo: Thank you so much for spreading the word. You’ve been amazing – and I’m sorry that the lucky draw didn’t make you a winner! You’ll get a proper jumper in the near future, I promise. Or you might just want to talk Lukas out of his… thought I can imaging his jumper is a little too subtle for all I know about you! 😀

Thank you so much for participating @all. What do we think about Easter jumpers? Or pants? Easter track suit bottoms?!… No? No… me neither. We’ll find a new opportunity to get this rolling again. Thank you for challenging me! That truly was a lot of fun!!!

Leave a Reply

